TEA IN BED ON SUNDAYS. DIY

TEA IN BED ON SUNDAYS. DIY

teasunday copy

My weekdays and weeknights are packed with work, events, and classes. Sometimes I leave the house at 8 am and don’t return until after 11 pm so I take weekend resting time very seriously. On Sunday mornings, my favorite thing to do is stay in bed, drink tea, and read the papers/magazines.

I recently decided I absolutely had to have a breakfast tray. However, when it arrived, the white top reminded me of a hospital so I decided to add a little color using decoupage.

If you are not familiar with Decoupage, it is really simple and all you need are a pair of scissors, a foam brush, Decoupage Glue (Mod Podge), paper (mine is from Paper Source but you can also just cut things out of magazines) and whatever it is you are covering – which in this case, is the breakfast tray.

papersteatray

If you want to cover the entire top first like I did, measure and cut your paper to the correct size. Then put a thin layer of modpodge directly on the tray.  Next, line up your paper and press it on to the tray, smoothening out the edges and getting rid of any bubbles.

IMG_6021

If you like the way it looks with just one layer of paper then go over the entire thing with modpodge to seal the paper and let it dry overnight (or two nights depending on how glue happy you were).

Or, cut out your favorite pictures/random artwork, put a thin layer of modpodge on the table and place your pictures. When you have finished placing your pictures, wait a few minutes for it to dry and then cover the entire table top with modpodge and give it a night or two to dry.

mess

The beauty of decoupage is that if you screw it up, you can just start over. I had this design for a while but then got bored so I just covered the old paper with a new one (top photo).

I hope you are having a great weekend and let me know if you decide to try this.

Leave a Reply

