The Human Race.

The Human Race.

stock-footage-silhouettes-crowd-walking-loop

I am but a human

Living in my humanness

Worried about my gas, my rent and cigarettes.

I am only a human

Living in my human ways

Working 9-5 day after day with no significant change.

I am a simple human

Living amongst the human race

Worried about my weight and the wrinkles on my face.

I am only a human

Existing through my human phase

Who only worries about tomorrow and can’t wait to finish the day.

I am but a mere human who awakens by the buzzing of my alarm clock

Late to work again

Rushing past the strangers on the sidewalk.

I am only a human that throws wrappers out of my window to keep my car clean.

A human who is enslaved to always wanting, always needing and can’t find relief.

A human who’s always reaching, always thinking but cannot simply be.

Just a human with suppressed pain and suffering that cannot be released.

I am but a mere human trapped in my humaneness, yearning for success.

Concerned with what lies ahead but not with the present.

I am only a human who answers when my cell phone rings.

An ordinary human who wishes for the finer things.

I am human, who can’t spare change for the beggar on the street

because my money belongs to me.

A mere human that never has enough time, love or money.

Glued to a laptop and television screen.

I am but a mere human, saving up for plastic surgery.

Just a human with a vodka bottle that’s half empty.

Unhappy and unhealthy.

I look into the mirror and a human is what I see.

& I guess I’m doing just fine, although my soul is on its knees.

But I’m just a mere human so I’ll keep living in my human ways, existing in my human phase.

I’m sure this is what God intended when he created the human race.

– Erika Fuego

gjon-mili-elise-daniels-young-model-standing-on-crowded-new-york-city-street

Leave a Reply

