journeys

journeys

IMG_2930going out to see
the wind at its best,
remembering the day
that you squeezed my hand,
to tell me
this world,
that sky,
and these sands.
would always be here.

my toes digging in,
my hands cupping
the assurance
of a salted, toffee calm.

and a bright red bicycle
on shells, cracked and whole.
my basket filled
with fluorescent laughs
and cowrie shells,
reminding me
as you once did,
that still,
oceans shine.IMG_2933

The weekend was somewhat stressful, and I’m sure the next two days will be similar as I wait for my display table to ship via Amazon and I begin my search for adequate display lights. Say, if anyone here can tell me how to properly hang cork-backed coasters on a chainlink fence, why, I’ll make you a free creation. I’m lost as to how to best hang them, and I have a little over forty-eight hours to figure it out. I’m showcasing eighty pieces. Since Friday, I’ve made thirty-six. In the spirit of crazy, I share the result of refusing sleep. Haikus included.

IMG_2059Toucan
angular, like blades
of an honesty, not mute.
always sharp, my nose.

IMG_1896Alpaca
I am the home-cooked
sourdough and wool sweater.
solitaire’s costume.

IMG_1920Red Panda
at war with their eyes
dilating in amazement.
outwardly, I’m cute.

IMG_1904Lamprey Eel
you all thought me strange.
to a deep extent, it’s true.
but, I promise fun.

IMG_1881Tapir
not an okapi.
just thought you should know by now
as I strive to hide.

IMG_1999Sugar Glider
the pet your child wants.
the escape your solemn fear.
please, lock all the doors.

IMG_2110Beluga
echolocation:
holes in ice, pockets of air.
surfacing’s a chore.

IMG_2139Clownfish
I laugh at your face
pressed against sugary walls
and wrinkled pillows.

IMG_2083The Gratuitous Pikachu
I am not a joke,
though Mondays certainly are.
read my cardboard sign.

IMG_2157Sea Snake
pythons are snooty
and I do have my bad days.
assuredly dark.

IMG_1958Bunny
I’ve traveled in bounds,
dived into pools, chewing air
in contemplation.

Leave a Reply

